CLP Alumni Award

Alumni Achievement Awardee:
Nicole Vallestero Keenan 


The Asian Pacific Islander Community Leadership Foundation (ACLF) is proud to announce that Nicole Vallestero Keenan is the winner of this year’s Alumni Achievement Award. Please join us on November 4 at our 16th Community Leaders Program Dinner as we honor Nicole and this year’s Community Leaders Program class.

Nicole Vallestero Keenan is the Executive Director at the Fair Work Center. Nicole is an alumnus of the 2010 ACLF class. Prior to joining the Fair Work Center, Nicole served as the Policy Director at Puget Sound Sage – where she led policy analysis for labor standards and environmental justice.   She has co-authored several publications on a variety of topics including financial capacity, income taxes, childcare, environmental justice and the economic impact of living wages.  Her work has been featured in local, national and international media including the New York Times, BBC, The Guardian and Huffington Post.

In 2014, Nicole received a 50th Anniversary Civil Rights Leadership Award from the Seattle Office of Civil Rights and Seattle Women’s Commission, and in 2015 she was named as one of “The 15 People Who Should Really Run Seattle” by Seattle Met magazine. Nicole served as Board President of the Asian Community Leadership Foundation until 2015, and serves on the boards of Working Washington and Climate Solutions. She has a BA in Public Policy from the College of William and Mary and an MSW from the University of Washington.

ACLF Alumni Achievement Award 

The Alumni Achievement Award recognizes and honors an outstanding Community Leaders Program alumni in their achievements and contributions to the API community since graduating from the program. Past Honorees are:

  • 2017 – ?
  • 2016 – Nicole Vallestero Keenan, Class of 2010
  • 2014/15- Nate Caminos – Class of 2007
  • 2013 – Jeff Liang – Class of 2006
  • 2012 – Christopher Batalon – Class of 2011
  • 2011 – Quang Nguyen – Class of 2004
  • 2010 – Julien Loh – Class of 2000